Bernon G. Perkins Award

One of NFBA's highest honors - The Bernon G. Perkins Award is presented at the annual Frame Building Expo Awards Luncheon to an individual who demonstrates exemplary service to the post-frame industry. The winner is also featured in Frame Building News magazine.

To nominate someone you feel qualifies for this prestigious award, please fill out and submit the nomination form.

Click here to submit an online nomination for the Bernon G. Perkins Award


  • Current NFBA Member
  • Dedicated over 5 years to the industry.

About Bernon G. Perkins:  Bernon G. Perkins is credited with refining the evolution of the modern post-frame building from a temporary "pole barn" to a longlasting structure. Red cedar poles were used before Perkins' time, lending up to a decade or more of longevity to structures. When red cedar poles became scarce in the mid-1930's, Perkins used creosote-treated poles to provide primary structural support. This innovation extended a typical pole building's life by several decades. Perkins pioneered several design enhancements and post frame has since proven an economical and efficient building system for a multitude of uses.

Bernon G. Perkins Award Winner


Congratulations to Dr. Joe Zulovich of the University of Missouri

2023 Bernon G. Perkins Award Winner


Joe was honored at the NFBA Conference and Expo Awards Luncheon on March 7, 2024, in Des Moines, IA for his spirit of collaboration and dedication to the advancement of post frame.


Past Perkins Award Winners
2023- Dr. Joe Zulovich 2000 - Dr. David Bohnhoff
2022 - Tim Royer 1999 - Bob Moore & Gus Gilderbloom
2021 - Matt Greiner 1998 - Russ McGinnis
2017 - John Hill 1997 - Dr. Don Bender
2016 - John Wick 1996 - Dr. David Bohnhoff
2015 - Henry Getz 1995 - Dr. William Bickert
2014 - Randy Ridenour 1994 - Dr. Art Muehling
2013 - Ron Sutton 1993 - Dr. Kifle Gebremedhin
2012 - Gary Auman 1992 - Bill Friday
2011 - Leo Shirek 1991 - Ken & Glen Umbaugh
2009 - Dr. Harvey Manbeck 1990 - Dr. Harvey Manbeck
2008 - Doug Rammer 1989/1988 - Al Dale
2007 - Roy Reiman 1987 - Dr. Frank Woeste
2006 - Pat McGuire 1986 - Bernon G. Perkins
2005 - Pete Kohl  
2004 - Leo Shirek  
2003 - Barry Bingham  
2002 - Harold Schroth